Fifty public school teachers and five independent school teachers will be honored on Thursday, April 16, 2020, as Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the 21st Century Education Foundation celebrate the 34th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum.

The Excellence in Education event will culminate with the announcements of the 2020 Anne Arundel County Public and Independent School Teachers of the Year. The Public School Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition.

AACPS has had two of the last three Maryland Teacher of the Year winners, Teresa Beilstein of South Shore Elementary School (2020) and Josh Carroll of South River High School (2018). AACPS Teachers of the Year have also been finalists for Maryland Teacher of the Year in each of the last five years and in seven of the last nine years.

The following AACPS schools have educators nominated this year:

Annapolis High School: Tema Encarnacion
Arnold Elementary School: Nikki Carleton
Arundel Middle School: Charlene Smith
Bates Middle School: Heather Carter
Benfield Elementary School: Kristie Young
Bodkin Elementary School: Jaclyn Cockcroft
Broadneck High School: Matthew Bem
Brooklyn Park Elementary School: Nisa Morris
Brooklyn Park Middle School: Emily Davis
Center of Applied Technology-South: David Fawley
Central Elementary School: Lynette Gibson
Central Middle School: Lauren Walker
Crofton Elementary School: Doreen Fischetti
Crofton Middle School: Devan Dugan
Crofton Woods Elementary School: Diana Curtis
Davidsonville Elementary School: Tamela Fidyk
Georgetown East Elementary School: Brianne McNallen
Glendale Elementary School: Lindsay Breach
Hebron-Harman Elementary School: Nicole Williams
Jones Elementary School: Amy Insley
Lindale Middle School: Erin Kane
Linthicum Elementary School: Kelsey Kramer
Lothian Elementary School: Jessica Ort
Magothy River Middle School: Leslie Watson
Marley Middle School: Hope Turner
Meade Middle School: Robyn Williams
Monarch Global Academy: Tamiko Gomez
North County High School: Theresa Bange
Northeast High School: Everett Reese
Oakwood Elementary School: Frances Collins
Old Mill High School: Carrie Witham
Old Mill Middle School South: Anna Preston
Pershing Hill Elementary School: Scott Armstrong
Point Pleasant Elementary School: Lisa Elliott
Quarterfield Elementary School: Patrick LaVelle
Riviera Beach Elementary School: Patrick Wensyel
Severn River Middle School: Stacy Kearns
Shady Side Elementary School: Jennifer Sturgell
Shipley’s Choice Elementary School: Angela Miller
Solley Elementary School: Michael Schemmel
South River High School: Robert Tompkins
Southern High School: Briana Gresko
Southern Middle School Marina Thompson
Sunset Elementary School: Jessica Phillips
Tracey’s Elementary School: Stacy Taylor
Tyler Heights Elementary School: Ryshelle Weaver
Waugh Chapel Elementary School: Mollie Dwyer
West Annapolis Elementary School: Kelly Fortune
West Meade Early Education Center: Robin Suda
Windsor Farm Elementary School: Kasey Kennedy
The following independent schools have educators nominated this year:

Annapolis Area Christian School: Christopher Deterding
St. Martin’s Lutheran School: Jennifer Zichelli
St. Mary’s Elementary School: Laraine Olechowski
St. Mary’s High School: Camille Baumann
St. Paul’s Lutheran School: Tedd Griepentrog
Semifinalists will be announced in late December. Finalists will be chosen from that group and announced in late February or early March.

Businesses and organizations interested in sponsorship opportunities should click here or contact Carol Ann McCurdy at cmccurdy@aacps.org or 410-222-5829.  Ticket information for the event will be available in January.