More than Two Dozen Students to Compete in 32nd Annual Anne Arundel County Spelling Bee

Arundel Arundel School officials today announced the details of the 32nd Annual Spelling Bee where 30 students will compete for an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., to compete in the 2020 Scripps National Spelling Bee in May. 

Twenty public school students and 10 private school students will vie to become the champion of the 32nd annual Anne Arundel County Spelling Bee on February 29, 2020.  The event at 10 a.m. in the Board Room of the Parham Building, located at 2644 Riva Road in Annapolis.

The county bee is presented by the Anne Arundel County Public Schools Office of Secondary Reading, English, & Integrated Literacy.  This year’s presenting sponsor is Development Facilitators, Inc. (DFI).  The event sponsors are Educational Systems Federal Credit Union, BGE, Comcast, DALY Computers, and M&T Bank. The champion sponsors for this year are American College of Education, Buffalo Wild Wings, and NTA.

The champion of the county bee wins an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., to compete in the 2020 Scripps National Spelling Bee in May.  There will be other prizes for the county’s top spellers, including monetary awards from Educational Systems Federal Credit Union as well as reference books and gift items from Merriam Webster, Medieval Times, Bowie Baysox, Southwest Airlines, Glen Burnie Regional Library, Chick-Fil-A of Annapolis, and Wegmans  of Crofton.

The Scripps National Spelling Bee is a not-for-profit educational promotion sponsored by The E.W. Scripps Company in conjunction with businesses and community organizations around the world. Each sponsor organizes a spelling bee program in its community with the cooperation of area school officials: private, charter, parochial, public, and home schools.

Participants in this year’s bee, listed in order of the school they represent, are:

Annapolis Middle School: Araaf Zahid
Arundel Middle School: Avery Thomas
Brooklyn Park Middle School: Nicholas Lai
Central Middle School: Owen Hurson
Chesapeake Bay Middle School: Sherry Nester
Chesapeake Science Point: Ayesha Shareef
Corkran Middle School: Rowan McCrary
Crofton Middle School: Vibu Puvvala
George Fox Middle School: Gabriel Samayoa
Indian Creek School: Ha Vi Albert
Key School: Vivien Kaplan
Lindale Middle School: Eniola Awosika
Macarthur Middle School: Nakiera Bea
Magothy River Middle School: Mauricio Palmar
Marley Middle School: Cody Smith
Meade Middle School: Malachi Rider
Monsignor Slade Catholic School: Ethan Rizzutti
Old Mill Middle School North: Mara Babb
Old Mill Middle School South: Akeelah Jones
School of the Incarnation: Ashley Miller
Severn River Middle School: Lucas Brown
Severn School: Emily Sutton
Severna Park Middle School: Ben Campion
Southern Middle School: Linda Johnson
St. Andrew’s United Methodist Day School: Olivia Hurd
St. Anne’s School of Annapolis: Alexis Parrott
St. John The Evangelist School: Christian (CJ) West
St. Martin’s Lutheran School: Maggie Porciello
St. Mary’s Elementary School: Amelia Atkins
Wiley H. Bates Middle School: Jeannette Manseau