2 Anne Arundel County School Teachers Named Finalists for Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching

The Maryland State Department of Education has announced six finalists for the 2020 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching for Grades K-6. Two of those finalists are teachers with the Anne Arundel County Public School System:

Joanie Gulden, Glen Burnie Park Elementary School (Math)

Daniel Fitzgerald, North Glen Elementary School (Science)

Established in 1983, these awards are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teaching.   

Each year, a national committee of prominent mathematicians, scientists, mathematics/science education researchers, district level personnel, and classroom teachers recommends up to 108 teachers to receive PAEMST awards. Up to two teachers—mathematics or science—from each state receive the award. Teachers who are selected as PAEMST awardees receive a trip to Washington, D.C., where they attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities. They also receive a $10,000 award from NSF, a Presidential certificate, and join an elite cohort of award-winning teachers who can influence state and national STEM teaching.