Voters Head to the Polls in Annapolis for General Election

Report Annapolis News previously endorsed the following six candidates for the Annapolis City Council:

Ward 2 Scott Gibson (bottom left picture)

Ward 3 Rhonda Pindell-Charles (top left picture)

Ward 4 Sheila Finlayson (top right picture)

Ward 5 Monica Manthey (top middle picture) 

Ward 6 George Gallagher (bottom middle picture)

Ward 8 Rock Toews (bottom right picture)

Biographies and other important information about these candidates can be found online: 

The City of Annapolis Board of Supervisors of Elections will count votes from the November 2, 2021 Annapolis General Election across two canvasses to take place at the Anne Arundel County Board of Elections in Glen Burnie on November 3 and November 9, 2021. 

Annapolis voters are casting ballots for Mayor and all eight councilmembers. All candidates serve a four-year term. In mid-October, mail-in ballots were sent to every registered voter in the City. Voters have the option to mark their mail-in ballot and return via drop box or by mail. Voters may also go to their Ward-designated polling place on Election Day, Tuesday, November 2, 2021 between 7 a.m. and 8 p.m. 

The vote counting will be conducted across three reports and two canvasses. The vote counting will conclude and official counts announced on Tuesday, November 9, 2021 at the conclusion of the second canvass at the Board of Elections headquarters in Glen Burnie (6740 Baymeadow Drive). Both canvasses will begin at 10 a.m. To further clarify: 

  • The first report will take place on Tuesday, November 2 after the polls have closed and will include all of the in-person voting at the eight polling places. Those totals will be posted to the City website at:

  • The second report, and first canvass, will count all of the drop box and mail-in ballots received through October 28. Those totals will be released via press release and posted to the City website. 

  • The third report, and second canvass, will include all remaining ballots received through drop box or mail-in, including ballots postmarked on Election Day. The official totals will be released via press release and posted to the City website.  

The 2021 Annapolis municipal election candidates are:

This is the first time that the City of Annapolis has conducted municipal elections (Primary and General) through a vote-by-mail process. All eligible voters received a General Election ballot by mail. 

Voters also have the option of voting in-person on Election Day at the polling place associated with their Ward. The polling locations are open at 7 a.m. and any eligible voter in line at 8 p.m. may cast a ballot. 

The polling locations are:

  • WARD ONE: City Council Chambers, 160 Duke of Gloucester Street

  • WARD TWO: Michael E. Busch Annapolis Library, 1410 West Street

  • WARD THREE: Mt. Olive Community Life Center, 2 Hicks Avenue

  • WARD FOUR: American Legion Post #141, 1707 Forest Drive

  • WARD FIVE: Roger “Pip” Moyer Recreation Center, 273 Hilltop Lane

  • WARD SIX: Eastport Community Center, 1014 President Street

  • WARD SEVEN: Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library

  • WARD EIGHT: Eastport Volunteer Fire Hall, 914 Bay Ridge Avenue

For questions before Election Day, please contact the Board of Supervisors of Elections Office at 410-263-7929. For questions on Election Day, please contact the Elections help desk, 410-222-0498.

For more information about Annapolis Elections, visit